Contact us!

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
logo.png

Quick Links

© 2018 La Mètis for A2EP

About Norda Stelo

Norda Stelo is a Canadian engineering design and construction firm operating on a global scale. Its head office is in Quebec City. The company has 800 employees and handles projects in around 50 countries. Norda Stelo is an independent firm working in the building, transport and infrastructure industries.

The Norda Stelo group has been a shareholder of A2EP since 2008, which gives A2EP's clients access to an international network of professionals in various fields of expertise.

History

In 1963, Charles-Eugène Rochette founded Charles-E. Rochette and Associates, in La Malbaie, in the Charlevoix district of Canada. Initially, the firm's main business was engineering services. A few years later, Mr. Rochette partnered with Marc Picard to found the firm Picard, Rochette and Associates. In order to expand the business, the company moved to Quebec City.

In 1965, with the arrival of new partners within the company, the firm Rochette, Lajoie, Grondin, Normand, Rochefort and Associates was born. During the 1970s, Roche [archive] created three new divisions: town planning, transport and environment. In 1977, the firm entered the international market by winning its first contract in the field of agriculture in Africa. Over the following years, Roche opened several offices in Quebec - in Rimouski, on the North Shore and in Thetford Mines - as well as in New Brunswick.

Over time, Roche has diversified its services by creating new business lines within the company or by partnering with other established companies. In 1984, the company became Roche Ltd. Consulting Group. In 1996, the company adopted a quality management system in accordance with ISO 9001.

In 1999, the firm entered into an agreement with the American company The IT Group, a public company listed on the New York Stock Exchange. That company went bankrupt in 2002 with The Shaw Group acquiring the majority of its assets. Roche once again became fully Quebec-owned in 2006 after being taken over by a group of employees. The company is still owned by employee shareholders.

In 2013, the company went through a major organisational transformation. It began focusing more on international markets by acquiring Stone Oil & Gas [archive] and opening offices in Côte-d’Ivoire and the United Arab Emirates.

On 14 December 2015, Roche Ltd. Consulting Group announced it was changing its name to Norda Stelo. The new name, which means "Star of the North" in Esperanto, completes the reorganisation which had been ongoing since 2013, a process which has also seen a new governance framework to oversee its ethics and integrity, as well as a greater overseas presence.

Contactez-nous !

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
logo.png

Liens rapides

© 2018 La Mètis pour A2EP

Présentation

Norda Stelo est une firme de génie-conseil et de construction canadienne œuvrant à l'échelle mondiale. Son siège social est à Québec. L’entreprise compte 800 employés et réalise des projets dans une cinquantaine de pays. Entreprise indépendante, Norda Stelo est active dans les secteurs des industries du bâtiment, des transports et des infrastructures.

Le groupe Norda Stelo est actionnaire d'A2EP depuis 2008 ce qui permet d'offrir aux clients d'A2EP l'ouverture à un réseau international d'expertises très variées.

Historique

En 1963, Charles-Eugène Rochette fonde l’entreprise Charles-E. Rochette et associés, à La Malbaie, dans la région de Charlevoix3. À cette époque, la firme offrait principalement des services d’ingénierie. Dans les années suivantes, M. Rochette s’associe avec Marc Picard pour fonder la firme Picard, Rochette et associés. Afin d’assurer l’expansion de l’entreprise, la compagnie déménage dans la ville de Québec.

En 1965, l’arrivée de nouveaux associés, au sein de la compagnie, crée la firme Rochette, Lajoie, Grondin, Normand, Rochefort et associés. Durant les années 1970 Roche [archive] crée trois nouvelles divisions : urbanisme, transport et environnement. En 1977, la firme fait son entrée sur le marché international avec l’octroi d’un premier contrat dans le domaine de l’agriculture en Afrique. Au cours des années suivantes, Roche ouvre plusieurs bureaux au Québec — à Rimouski, sur la Côte-Nord et à Thetford Mines —, ainsi qu'au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Au fil des ans, Roche a diversifié ses services en créant, au sein même de l’entreprise, des nouveaux secteurs d’activités ou encore en s’associant à d’autres entreprises déjà établies. C’est en 1984 que l’entreprise devient Roche ltée, Groupe-conseil. En 1996, l'entreprise se dote d’un système de gestion de la qualité conforme à la norme ISO 9001.

La firme conclut une entente avec la compagnie américaine The IT Group, société publique cotée à la Bourse de New York, en 1999. Celle-ci fait faillite en 2002 et The Shaw Group acquiert la majorité de ses actifs. Roche redevient entièrement québécoise en 2006, après son rachat par un groupe d’employés. L’entreprise est toujours détenue par des actions employées.

En 2013, l’entreprise subit une transformation organisationnelle majeure. Elle s’oriente davantage sur l’internationalisation en faisant l’acquisition de Stone Oil & Gas [archive] et en ouvrant des bureaux en Côte-d’Ivoire et aux Émirats arabes unis.

Le 14 décembre 2015, Roche Ltée groupe-conseil annonce qu'elle change de nom pour Norda Stelo. La nouvelle raison sociale, qui signifie «Étoile du nord» en espéranto, complète une réorganisation mise en œuvre depuis 2013, et s'accompagne d'un nouveau cadre de gouvernance en matière d'éthique et d'intégrité, indique la société ainsi que d'une présence accrue à l'international.